About Phi Sigma Pi

Fraternity Tripod | History | Awards | Scholarships | The Ideal Brother | External Links
Fraternity Tripod

Phi Sigma Pi is based on a tripod of scholarship, leadership, and fellowship. The Fraternity is built on and dedicated to these three ideals.

National History
Fraternal orders have existed since 1427 B.C. Phi Sigma Pi was established on February 14, 1916 by founders Dr. Eldo L Hendricks, Dr. Claude A Phillips, and Dr. C. H. McClure. The fraternity was created at the State Teachers College at Warrensburg, Missouri, known today as Central Missouri State University. In 1921, it expanded into a "National" Fraternity, and then in 1966 a National "Honor" Fraternity.

Local History
The Alpha Epsilon Chapter of Phi Sigma Pi was founded on October 30, 1988 at West Chester University in West Chester, Pennsylvania. Since that date, it has received numerous awards and recognitions. It has been recognized for excellence within the organization on a national level for its achievements in supporting the tripod.


The Alpha Epsilon Chapter of Phi Sigma Pi has won several awards and received various recognitions since the Chapter's birth in 1988.

Joseph Torchia Outstanding Chapter Award: 1993, 1994, 1997, 2003
This award is the first, oldest, and most prestigious national award which can be bestowed upon an undergraduate chapter. The Outstanding Chapter Award was originally established in 1957, with one award being given every two years. Since 1966, the award has been given on an annual basis. Modifications were made to the criteria in 1970 to allow for up to three chapters per year to win the award, and it was renamed to honor Mr. Torchia for his outstanding contributions, years of service, and dedication to Phi Sigma Pi. Currently the criteria allows for 5% of the total collegiate chapters to be eligible for this award. Chapters are evaluated for this award on the basis of overall chapter activities as they strive to achieve a balance between scholarship, leadership, and fellowship.

Phi Sigma Pi Top Ten Award: 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2003
This award is presented annually to the top ten collegiate chapters in the national organization.

Steven A. DiGuiseppe Administrative Award: 1992, 1998
This award is presented to the collegiate chapter(s) that maintains the highest efficiency in administrative detail. Criteria for evaluation includes the manner in which the Chapter conducts its communication with the National Office, as well as with officials of the college or university where the Chapter has been chartered, and whether or not the Chapter exhibits consistency in carrying out its administrative affairs.

Charles W. Chance Alumni Award: 1994, 1995, 1996, 1998
This award is presented annually to chapters excelling in alumni relations. Award determination is based upon such areas as sound communication, financial support, and alumni participation in chapter events.

Most Outstanding Advisor Award: Dr. Melissa Cichowicz (2001)
This award is presented to recognize outstanding service and guidance provided by a chapter's advisor.

Distinguished Service Key Recipients: Tammy Mleziva, Stephen L. Johnson
Distinguished Service Keys are awarded by the National Council to members of Phi Sigma Pi who have demonstrated outstanding service to the National Fraternity. Distinguished Service Key nominations may be submitted by the National Council, National Staff, or an active chapter via the Form 130. Requirements are outlined in the Awards and Scholarship Committee Manual.

Here is a current listing of scholarships available to Brothers of the Alpha Epsilon Chapter:

Harry W. Womelsdorf Memorial Book Scholarship:
The Harry W. Womelsdorf Memorial Book Scholarship is named after Alumni Advisor Michael Medina's grandfather. The scholarship entails a 2,000 word essay on the effect World War II had on the U.S. economy coming out of the Great Depression. The scholarship is a formal award given to one undergraduate Brother with at minimum 3.00 GPA. Because this is a yearly award, the winner will receive 300 dollars in both the fall and spring semesters to be used for textbooks.

Richard Cecil Todd and Clauda Pennock Todd Tripod Scholarship:
In September 1991, Dr. and Mrs. Richard Todd established the Richard Cecil Todd and Clauda Pennock Todd Tripod Scholarship to promote the future academic opportunity of Phi Sigma Pi Brothers who have excelled in embodying the ideals of scholarship, leadership, and fellowship. Dr. Todd passed away on July 18, 1993, but his memory and the innumerable contributions he made to Phi Sigma Pi will never be forgotten. [Click here] for more information or to apply.

Rolla F. Wood Graduate Scholarship:
Established in 2004 as the graduate scholarship of Phi Sigma Pi, the award is given to an alumnus/a who has excelled in undergraduate studies and has been accepted to or enrolled in graduate school. The fraternity felt it was vitally important to respect one of our founding principles, namely education, by encouraging the educational advancement of our alumni through the offering of this scholarship. [Click here] for more information or to apply.

Other Scholarships:
[Click here] to be directed to the National Website with Scholarship listings.
External Links

At times, it may be necessary to utilize any of the following links.